| | |

Book review – Attack and Defence by Jacob Aagaard

Attack and Defence is one of the 6 books of the grandmaster preparation series published by Quality Chess. Other books in this series are positional play, Endgame Play, calculation, strategic play, and thinking inside the box. This grandmaster preparation series is one of the bestseller book series in the chess world.

Author Of Book – Jacob Aagaard
Publishing Date – 27 September 2013
Published By – Quality Chess

Content of this Book

  • Include all the pieces in the attack
  • Momentum
  • Colour
  • Quantity beats quality
  • Attack the weakest square
  • Attack the strongest square
  • Evolution
  • Kill zone
  • Only move
  • Comparison
  • Prophylaxis
  • Active Defence

What to expect?

Jacob Aagaard explained attacking and defensive principles in his book. You will find a variety of puzzle that will include attacking technique and defensive skills that every chess player need to learn. After finishing this book you will definitely improve your attacking skills.

In this book, Jacob focused more on the attack and less on defense. As Garry Kasparov once said it is difficult to win in a winning position.

The uniqueness of this book

In this book, you will find some special chapters such as quantity beats quality, kill zone, etc. The uniqueness is Jacob explained all attacking concepts very well. You will find almost all unique positions that you will not find in any other book.

Jacob took a lot of effort to select these positions and that’s why this book is one of the bestsellers in the world.

You should must-read small articles in this book attacking theory in 60 seconds. You will find that article in the attached pdf.

Who can read

This book is quite a high level and in my opinion, this book is perfect for players who are above the 2000 rating. Others also can solve this book but the puzzles are really very tough.

Basically in one book author told that the whole grandmaster preparation series is dedicated to players who are 2300 above.

What did I like?

This book is very structured. Puzzles are divided properly into chapters. The explanation given by Jacob is not very long but it’s perfect. I like the way the author arranged the puzzles. The first 6 puzzles of each chapter are quite easy and gradually increase the difficulty level of the puzzles.

As I mentioned in the previous article, I liked the page quality of quality chess books. This book is defiantly worth buying.

From where you can buy Attack and Defence book?

Quality Chess published this book in Paperback and Hardcover format. The paperback costs $29.99 and the Hardcover costs $34.99

The book is available in various stores in USA and UK and all over Europe. As this is a bestselling book, you will get it at various chess tournaments also. You can buy this book from Amazon from this link.

If you want to read in an interactive format, you can check out the chessable and Forward Chess websites.

PDF excerpt of this Book

About the book author

Jacob Aagaard was born on 31st July 1973. Jacob is a well-known author and coach in chess. He has already written more than 20 books, also became a British chess champion in 2007, and got the Senior Fide Trainer title in 2012. He is famous for writing high-quality books even suitable for GM level also. His famous books include the grandmaster preparation series of 6 books and Practical chess defense.  He trained already many Grandmasters which include GM Sam Shankland. He also runs 365 chess academy which is completely online and at very affordable rates. Check out from here


About the publisher

Quality chess is a UK-based company. This was founded by GM Jacob Aagaard, GM John Shaw, and IM Ari Ziegler. Quality chess is currently dominating the chess market and is currently one of the top publications in the chess world. Most of the books from quality chess are very famous. The page quality and binding quality are also excellent.


Similar Posts